Thursday, May 31, 2012

PREVIOUS FEATURED ARTIST: MAY - DJ CAM

Since I'll be writing up a new featured artist soon times; get another look see at DJ CAM.


DJ CAM 

Relatively recently, like a couple months ago or so, I'd gotten this album by DJ Cam called Seven, on NAR my go to download-new-shit site. I'd mass downloaded a bunch of albums for private consumption over a couple of weeks and as usual, some got played the same day, some got lost in iTunes. Seven got lost in the shuffle. One day I was making a FNC mix tape for 8tracks and decided to go through the trip-hop albums and give some a listen.

Seven caught me by surprise because it was incredibly magnetic and emotional. The first song that grabbed my attention was Swim feat. Chris James, which was like a breathe of fresh breezy air on a rainy Spring evening. The other great thing about Seven is that besides all the interesting and talented guest vocalists, there is a palpable cool yet very emotive vibe that coats each song on the album. The title track, Seven, is a track that sounds almost Tricky-esque and it's hot in a very cool sort of way. Ghost feat. Chris James is my favourite track on the album, it's so well put together! The rest of the album features moments of undeniable subdued dance vibes, that compliment Seven beautifully. When I heard Seven, I thought it was sooo dope that, I made it a point to look up DJ Cam, look up all his info and all basically curate all his work up till now. Most of it I found on a French mirror site that I won't name, DJ Cam's - DJ Kicks I got on iTunes, and the rest I scooped on some other sites here and there.


Anyway; DJ Cam, real name Laurent Dumail, is a French DJ who currently resides in LA or something like that, but that doesn't really matter. What matters is, he's got this amazing way of mixing hip-hop, soul, jazz, r&b and downtempo into this crazy blend of extremely chilled, ambient, somewhat nostalgic, emotionally heavy yet sonically minimalistic type trip-hop. It's fly as fuck.

Seven's a great album, and if you haven't heard it, you really should. At moments where an emergency chill session is needed, it's a great album to listen to. I'm definitely working my way through his discography, which is extensive, but it's an extremely engaging discography to say the least, so Mr. Dumail is TBR's man of the moment.

Check out DJ Cam's music on iTunes.




(featured: 05/12) 

Check out a video by our upcoming featured artist by clicking here.

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

NEW MUSIC: JAY-Z & KANYE WEST feat. FRANK OCEAN - NO CHURCH IN THE WILD

So some of that footage Kanye West has been shooting over in the middle east has surfaced as this new official video for the epic track, No Church In The Wild, off of the duo's (HOV & Yeezy's) critically-acclaimed release, Watch The Throne. Video visibly features none of the three artists but has some interesting imagery. First seen on Rapdose.ca via VEVO! Check it. 



Read our review on Watch The Throne by clicking here.

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

REMEMBERING MY MUSICAL HERO: JEFF BUCKLEY

Jeffrey Scott Buckley (1966-1997) 
So today my dear friend ReptilianThighs on twitter, brought an awesome post to my attention that was created by the folks at music.cbc.ca, marking the 15th anniversary of the death of alternative rock musician, and my personal favourite musician of all time, Jeff Buckley.

There are many musicians that I like, hell that I love, but no one at all compares to my sick and twisted obsession with Jeff Buckley. I remember the first time I heard the album Grace. Jeff Buckley had been long dead since then and I was just coming out of high school. I remember thinking that I'd never heard anyone sing with as much emotional determination and skill as Jeff Buckley. I remember thinking I could hear love, pain, soul, fury, and a multitude of other emotions in his voice.. emotions to a degree of clarity that I had never heard on record in my entire life. I'd heard many other singers in my life up to that point, but no one like him. I can't even remember any other musician having such a deep impact on my life as this Cali born singer and guitarist.

Years later, I still feel the same. My feelings about the intensity of Jeff Buckley, his voice, his personality (from what I've read) and the complex, yet simplistic and poetic beauty of his lyrics have never changed. He wrote songs that I could, and can still, relate to on a crazy level. It's funny cause I actually only have one favourite band, Katatonia, and even they cite Jeff Buckley as one of their influences, going so far as to do an alternative metal cover Jeff Buckley's Nightmares By The Sea, which was executed perfectly - and I fucking hate covers.

Anyway - my love for Jeff Buckley spans oceans and seas, and though I'm trying, I seriously can't even break it down in a single post - my love for him as a musician is way too great. I have every single album, every single MP3 I could find from him singing on radio stations, in coffee shops, gardens, bedrooms, I've read many comprehensive books written about his life, owning both Dream Brother and A Wished For Song. I'm still working on getting this - and building up my Jeff Buckley book collection and I'm grateful when I meet people who love Jeff Buckley as much as I do. I seriously don't even go out of my way to share his music with others, I don't even talk about my obsession with Jeff Buckley a lot because it's so intense and personal for me. It's like your first time having sex when it's really good.. you just savour the moment, cherish the feeling, and replay it constantly in your mind; you take that experience, keep it and bottle it up just for yourself. It's funny because there were only two people I ever shared in the glory of Grace with and that was my brother and sister, I might have mentioned it to others in passing, but I've never sat and just shared the album with anyone. I couldn't keep it from my family though. I remember playing Grace for my brother and sister after I heard it and them just going "..damnnnn Chantel, that's insane." When that final track hit, the entire album just hung in the air, unmovable.
_____

The awesome Grace album plaque that hangs over my bed.
Jeff Buckley has changed my perception on the limitless amount of raw and unknown talent out there in the world. He's kept me company on many occasions and he's comforted me and been there for me. Jeff Buckley has made me a seeker of amazing vocalists. I loved music before hearing him, but I didn't understand to what degree music could touch a person. Hearing Grace has made me infinitely curious as to who and what else is out there undiscovered - he opened up my eyes to looking for a world of undiscovered music. One of the saddest moments in my life after hearing him sing, was learning that he died when I was a kid and that I'd never ever get to see him live in concert. With only two official Jeff Buckley albums released, it's almost a gift and a curse that his life was cut short tragically at the age of thirty, because - and this is going to sound morbid and mean as fuck but - realistically speaking, I could only hope that he'd stay the same forever musically because his albums were perfect, as perfect as his voice and there is nothing even remotely bad or questionable out there in his discography. Even though I wish he was still around so I could see him in concert, I'm glad that he's still incontestably the best vocalist I have ever heard. Even now, years later, I still get chills when I listen to his music and he's still my absolute favourite musician.

Shit this post was hella long and written like a love letter but I had to let y'all know. Jeff Buckley holds a special place in my heart. No one can touch him. I'm gonna end this post with an 8tracks mixtape I created last year sometime called White Boy Blues featuring some of my favourite Jeff Buckley tracks, as well as two of my favourite music videos that he created for tracks off of his legendary album, Grace. Enjoy.






Check out this documentary on Jeff Buckley put out by the BBC by clicking here.

Sunday, May 27, 2012

SUNDAY EVENING LISTEN: DJ SHADOW - ENDTRODUCING..

It's an oldie, but a goodie.. Let it keep you company tonight on this overcast Sunday evening.



full album via/ youtube.

DRAGONTAPE: DJ FOOD - NINJA TUNE NIGHT WARMUP

So, I'm a HUGE fan of Laid Back Radio & Magazine and follow them on a slew of outlets, namely Mixcloud and Twitter. They put out a crazy amount of great genre covering mixes from soul to funk and reggae and latin tunes, jazz and what-have-you, and y'all know, how much I love me some musical diversity. Recently I was dragon-taping.. which means I was just is messing about on dragontape.com and I discovered this awesome, very interesting and informative tape put out by the Laid Back Radio 3 months ago.. It's a bunch of clips that are all uniquely different but well put together, so I thought I'd share.  My favourite clip is the sculpture clip. Talk about TRIPPPPPY! Check it out.



Check out Laid Back Radio & Magazine's website by clicking here.
Check out Laid Back Radio on Mixcloud by clicking here.
Also check em out on twitter by clicking here.

Saturday, May 26, 2012

OFFICIAL VIDEO: GOJIRA - L'ENFANT SAUVAGE

Okay, so the official video has landed! The album is coming soon (end of June) and this video, keeping in that Gojira-way of things; the video is crazy unique, very artistic and uniquely Gojira. Check it out. The first single of their forthcoming album of the same name; L'Enfant Sauvage.



Stay current on their upcoming album and other Gojira news by clicking here.

Friday, May 25, 2012

CURRENTLY ON THE IPOD: SOULSTICE - IN THE LIGHT

I got this album, In The Light, a lil while ago and I must say that I'm a fan. I played it a couple of times this week when I needed to mellow and yo it does the trick.

I had never heard of Soulstice before the random download, but I'm kinda feeling their trip-hop, downtempo vibes. There's some jazzy moments, some experimental light and liquid dubstep breakdowns that don't sound overdone, as well as it's very soulful. The lyrics are intelligent, sexy and calming - and the lead singer's voice is warm and very suitable to their downtempo styling. I really like her voice. The group reminds me a lil bit of the trip-hop group Etro Anime and a lil bit like Groove Armada at points. They've also got some hip-hop flavour thrown in here and there that's crazy pleasurable to listen to. It's good sex music, it's also just good chill out, zone out, read and drink-some-coffee/wine-to-music.

Some of my favourite tracks are: Goog Organ, Soul On Fire, Love Cliche, Realistic and Where Were You.

Anyway - yeah yo that's what I'm listening to just now. If you like chill out, downtempo, trip-hop, acid jazz or anything similar, you'll enjoy this album and get into it. It's pretty decent stuff. Look for In The Light by clicking music is life at the bottom right corner of the site or if you wanna buy it, I'm pretty sure it's on iTunes. Everything is. Almost everything.

Check out Soulstice on wikipedia by clicking here.
Check out Soulstice on last.fm by clicking here.
Check out this clip of the band's photo shoot for the new album by clicking here.

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

MOVIE TRACKS: FLORENCE & THE MACHINE - BREATH OF LIFE

There's something about Florence Welch. 
I can't even put my finger on what it is, so I won't try.

Snow White and The Huntsman is probably one of the only big budget movies that I'm very excited to see this summer. It looks like the craziest, most epic version of Snow White to ever be released. If this song by Florence + The Machine, and it's video are any indicator of the epic-ness coming, I'm still psyched. This track is beyond remarkable. It's all in her voice. It's otherworldly. Florence Welch is a killlllller.




Check out Florence + The Machine's new album Ceremonials by clicking here.
Watch the trailer for Snow White and the Huntsman by clicking here.

NEW MUSIC: KREAYSHAWN FEAT. 2 CHAINZ - BREAKFAST (SYRUP)

I really wanna hate this girl, because she's an obvious con job being pulled on society, promoting her hipster wares & sometimes funny, sometimes shit music, but I can't. Her white girl rapping about bullshit, and dancey minimal young girl swag rap beats make me wanna party. Why you gotta be so catchy Kreayshawn? 2 Chainz is hustling hard though, he's on the come up.. Kreayshawn's debut album, Something About Kreay,  is coming out in the summer. I sense another Amanda Blank happening - crazy hype, little product, summer jams to be forgotten in a year. Con job. Video's cute tho.



album / video reports via: theprophetblog.net - hiphopdx.net

You can follow Kreayshawn on twitter by clicking here.
You can also follow her on tumblr by clicking here.
You can follow 2 Chainz on twitter by clicking here.

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

DEMI LOVATO'S INTIMATE & INTERACTIVE PERFORMANCE VIDEO

Screenshot of performance.
Kay so let's be honest, very few - actually almost none - of these Disney pop bitches can sing. That is to say that they serve their purpose as Disney "stars", but when it comes to real talent, the ability to bolt a tune, almost none of those chicas or dudes can sing, almost none of them can.. Except, Demi Lovato.

With the exception of Christina Aguilera, Disney girls of the past are predominantly major disappointments, vocally. So focused "doing it all" - acting, singing and making a brand for themselves - many young Disney stars of the past or present don't really excel at any one talent to their full potential. While working so hard at everything, it's all half assed everything and everything suffers. When it comes to their musical capabilities, many Disney kids can't hold a note or sing a lick but that doesn't stop you from seeing their faces & records EVERYWHERE. The current generation of Disney spawn have not produced one vocally capable musician till Demi Lovato, who shedding her Disney-girl image, recently suffered a very debilitating emotional breakdown, and very public and graceful recovery (on-going).

I'm one of those people who generally write off most Disney kids as useless, wal-mart shelf hugging, un-credible (but not-entirely talentless) singers.. However, once in awhile one of those shiny-on-the-outside, misfit-on-the-inside kids can sing like nobody's business. Last night, I was up late screwing around on VEVO and came across this Intimate & Interactive video of the young and very talented Demi Lovato doing what she does best, besides closing television deals, singing. I won't even lie and say that this is the first time I've ever heard her sing. I'm a HUGE fan of Demi Lovato. This video, her voice and the way she sings will explain why.. She could stand to work on her bland personality, but that depiction might just be the work of shoddy editing, which is also present. Editing aside, Demi delivers the goods and this is definitely worth a watch if you like pop music and talented singers with versatile range. All this being said, it's still music for elementary school kids but who cares, Get into it.



Check out Demi Lovato's VEVO page by clicking here.

Sunday, May 20, 2012

GOOD MUSIC FOR YOUR LONG WEEKEND

Yo everyone, happy long weekend! Now for everyone Victoria Day weekend usually means barbecue, fireworks, beautiful Toronto weather, drinking and mad chillage. It's no different for us here at TBR. We're out here enjoying the nice weather, chilling out, being lazy and watching the sky move sideways..

Anyway - we've been 8tracksting, cause that's what we do daily and we've found a great playlist that we killed yesterday. It's 100 tracks long, you can set it and FORGET IT - lmao / except you won't forget it because there is some great tracks on this playlist. I can vouch for it. Filled with a healthy mix of Pop, Hip-Hop, Folk, Jazz and Rap not to mention tracks from Musiq Soulchild, Robin Thicke, The Police, Billy Joel, Miles Davis, Nina Simone, Maroon 5, Charlie Hunter, Lily Allen - yo I could go on and on, but the playlist is dope. It's the perfect blend of hype and chill, and it's perfect to hang out to, eat some barbecue to (or in our case Mexican) and drink a beer too. It's also our gift to you via/ DGLSPLEnjoy the rest of your weekend!




Check out the rest of dglspl's mixes on 8tracks by clicking here.

Friday, May 18, 2012

CURRENTLY ON THE IPOD: DIGITS - DEATH AND DESIRE

Yo so I'm a common, frequent downloader off of the New Album Releases website with a permanent subscription to a variety of rapidshare-type sites.. y'all know this tho so it's all good.

Anyway - I was roaming through and I came across this mixtape by a formerly unknown to me artist named Digits, who's an electronic musician from Toronto by way of London (or something). I took one look at the album cover and was like YO! That's York University's Library!!! I recognize that crazy multicoloured structure anywhere, mainly because I used to hang out outside that library. So naturally, being a former yorker, I downloaded the album, and I ain't even gonna lie, it's kinda bitchin.

If you're a fan of REALLY minimal electronic/pop music, synth-pop, or if you're a fan of dark electro-music that almost sounds slightly gothic at points, you'll dig this album. He ain't got the best voice, but the album, Death and Desire has got some decent moments namely the tracks Rachel Marie and Because It's Wrong. Both tracks remind of like really simple, clean and synthy 80s pop tracks. Now I ain't telling you where to go get it, you know I ain't that preachy... My motto is get it how you get it cause that's how we work here, but if you wanna snag it for free, cause they're giving it away for free, get it at digitsmusic.com/deathanddesire you can also score his previous album for free by joining his mailing list.. if you do that - tell me how the first album sounds.

Check out Digits website by clicking here.

HOW DONNA SUMMER MADE A MONSTER OUT OF ME

R.I.P. Disco Queen Donna Summer (1948-2012) 
It's a sad day in music again.. So far this entire year has been a sad year for music. Legends be dropping left, right and centre.

As you all are aware by now, disco queen, Donna Summer has passed on at the age of 63 years old yesterday. Apparently, cancer was the cause of death and that's sad cause cancer fucking sucks. I heard a lot of different types of music growing up, mainly because my dad is a disc jockey and my mom has pretty eclectic musical tastes.

My mom had this one album, it was like body & soul disco hits of the 70s/80s or some shit and this album would drive me CRAZY! Not because it sucked, but because she'd play it non-stop, all day, every Saturday when I was a youth. I remember growing up thinking if I hear, last daaaaaance, lasssst chaaaance for loveeee, ever again, I'd fucking kill myself... Luckily, I didn't tho. I managed to stay calm(ish) even through my mom playing that shit for years. Eventually, my mom made her way away from Donna Summer and starting killing the Erykah Badu, Missy Elliot, or what have you (whatever made her smile really) on another Saturday afternoon.

But that song man, that song, Last Dance.. yo that track made me wanna shoot people. It's not a bad track, it's actually amazing, BUT when you hear it, on repeat for hours, it'll make a bitch psycho. It seems only fitting that since Ms. Summer has passed, I suffer through one more play of that track and remember those Saturdays with my mom dancing around for hours as we (my siblings & I) chilled/suffered through some old school shit. My mom is still going off on that music tip nowadays, but it's different mood and different music, and I haven't heard Last Dance in ages... It's funny, cause that song's called Last Dance, but it was NEVER the last dance, that was the first dance of a long line of Last Dance's on repeat. That song tho, yo man... that song brought out a psycho killer in me that I never knew existed. So naturally, I'd like to share it with all you lovely people who read this and drink a nice glass of wine to the passing of one more legend.


Rest In Peace Donna Summer. 





reports:  LA Times - National Post - MTV - CBC - Rolling Stone - Yahoo

Thursday, May 17, 2012

EXCITEMENT: AZEALIA BANKS - 1991 EP

Yo, I'm HUGE on this chick.

So far every single track released by New York artist Azealia Banks has been on repeat on my shit. I read yesterday on my favourite news source, Twitter, that her official EP, 1991, is coming out on May 29th and yo, I can't wait till I get that. That's all I wanna say on the subject. I'm crazy fucking excited.

Also, isn't this just some badass album art? --> 
It's simple, crazy stylish, fun and I like it. It's hoodrat, classy-bitch art.

Check out this remix of Lana Del Rey's Blue Jeans featuring Ms. Banks. 


Now check out one of her recent tracks, Fuck Up The Fun produced by Diplo




NOW check out her most recent release, released 6 days ago on Soundcloud, Jumanji




Dope, eh? for real! Get at me on twitter & tell me what you thought of it.

Follow Azealia Banks on t w i t t e r by clicking here.
Check out her s o u n d c l o u d by clicking here.
And when that EP drops, go get it.

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

ON THE DOME: HEARTBEAT

what a tune! currently in love with: Zaki Ibrahim's Heartbeat produced by Nick Holder.
this tune has got a beat and a half! saw this on one of my favourite blogs 1loveto.ca a while back, and was in love from back then. today this track was on overdrive in my mind.


check out Zaki Ibrahim on twitter by clicking here.
check out some info on producer Nick Holder by clicking here

3 REASONS WHY:

You should check out the past two heavy rotation picks.

So we're changing up the Heavy Rotation soon times, but we wanted to give you a couple of reasons why you should check out to the past two;

True Colours by High Contrast
3. The track Music Is Everything is like MY TRACK! It describes my life (Chantel Nouseforaname) to the core. Get to know me. I'm fucking fabulous. Plus the lyrics on the tracks with lyrics are amazing.
2. The album makes you want to get up and rinse out! It's got some dope beats, breaks and bass lines.
1. Drum & Bass heads will enjoy the atmospheric/liquid vibes of it all. It's FONKY in the way that only High Contrast knows how to get down on shit. It's fly.

Priscilla by JMSN
3. Because we've beat you over the head with JMSN posts and tweets. Click this link.
2. Because it's genre smashing and still sounds good! It crosses lines and dabbles under R&B, Hip-Hop and Electronica.
1. Because the lyrics are deep and as we've stated nuff times, we're all about lyrics.

Anyway, check out these previous Heavy Rotation picks, click the MUSIC IS LIFE link at the bottom of the page and listen to some good chunes. Stay present for those new Heavy Rotation pics coming up.

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

HAVE YOU SEEN THE CURVE BALL?

bringing you daily links, videos and posts from various corners of the inter webs.
send us some shit on twitter, or @ theblanketreviewer.com. click curve ball ^ for some randomness.

posted by: @timebomb81 via @deathgrips / 051512


DETROIT STATE OF MIND (DOCUMENTARY)

So Danny Brown, my current favourite rapper in the game, was just featured in a 20 minute documentary talking about his life, living in the hood in Detroit and music (of course!). It's an entertaining documentary that's well shot and displays the artist's unique approach to music. You get to meet his family, his crew, watch as he records some new music and preforms at Dilla Day. Snatched this via Rapdose.com. Check it.



Check out Danny Brown on twitter by clicking here.
Check out Bruiser Brigade on tumblr by clicking here.

Sunday, May 13, 2012

HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY!

Yo, so I'm just wishing my mom and every mother I know out there a Happy Mother's Day, as well as all the single fathers who take full responsibility for their children... happy mother's day! Here's a couple of playlists to enjoy the day too - cause you know we be 8tracksting.


             


Warning: I haven't listened to these ones.. So I can't say that they're wicked, but what I can say is that their tagged with the day's appropriate tags, so pick one at random, listen & enjoy.

_click the title on any playlist to get more info about the genre of music.

Saturday, May 12, 2012

A GORGEOUS GIRL, A GORGEOUS SONG, A GORGEOUS VIDEO: YUNA - LIVE YOUR LIFE

Malaysian singer Yuna has been on the come up for awhile now. She's not as popular as she should be, but she's getting there! I had originally discovered Yuna while looking up Nirvana (she did a cover for Come As You Are) and heard/got her previous album Decorate a while back. Her music is really chill and has a very alternative pop sensibility to it. I've used some tracks from Decorate on a variety of 8tracks mixtapes as well. There's something soft and charming about the cultured vocalist.

Signed to the hip and youthful Fader label, Yuna's self-titled new album was released last month and is doing very well both internationally and in North America. Live Your Life is one of the first singles from the album and is a very uplifting track that feels warm and emotive; it's got a light touch of soul and heavy doses of cool. The music video is gorgeously shot and makes me want to get up tonight and go for a late night walk downtown.  Check it.



Check out Yuna's cover of Come As You Are. Click here.

Thursday, May 10, 2012

JMSN - JAMESON

If you look over in the corner of this blog, you'll see that JMSN's debut album Priscilla is the album we TBR brats currently have on Heavy Rotation!

There's this insane dark and artistic quality to JMSN's music and music videos; it's beautiful in this almost anyone-can-do-it-but-not-really sort of way and it's deep as hell. One of the reasons we love the album is because Christian Berishaj (JMSN) definitely has an interesting vision and knows how to manipulate genres to fit together seamlessly. He's got this sort of R&B/Hip-Hop but heavily electronic vibe going on and it's REALLY exciting to listen to in these hard times (when both R&B and Hip-Hop are suffering creatively and stylistically). In addition, Priscilla is also a VERY moody album. Real talks, JMSN seems like a very moody individual and honestly, in an artist, I respect that. It's comes across as real and pensive, and yeah vocally he does sound like The Weeknd, but there's no fighting that.

Anyway; his new video, for the track Jameson, is chilling and beautifully composed. I love the fact that it's a very blatant nod towards the movie, Antichrist, which is probably one of the most fucked up movies I've ever seen. It's extremely well executed. Check it.



Check out JMSN on Tumblr by clicking here.
Check him out on Twitter by clicking here.

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

NEW MUSIC: NELLY FURTADO - BIG HOOPS (BIGGER THE BETTER)

Okay, so many people who know Nelly Furtado mainly know her for her international popularity during her "Promiscuous" / Loose album phase. All the crap surrounding her "change" (which I hated) during her Timbaland/Justin Timberlake era a few years back made her a musical tour de force. However, prior to the release of the album Loose and her Promiscuous-girl image change, Nelly Furtado was a spiritual, conscious, interesting, innovative, and non-commercial non-pandering type musician.

Her new song, Big Hoops (Bigger The Better), featured below is a combination of both worlds and it's wonderful. She's seemingly made a return to relative consciousness, while still maintaining her fly girl status, and it's an amazing thing to see.. I find the lyric in this song, "I don't wanna talk about sex, I wanna express myself tonight" a very all-encompassing description of her return to music with substance. Plus the beat is dope, with that tight lil D&B sequence in the end. The video is tight. Nelly, you told us you were fly and you were right. Check it. 

Sunday, May 6, 2012

ANATHEMA VIDEO INTERVIEW w/ LINEA ROCK

I have this sick and twisted obsession with Anathema and the Cavanagh Brothers. Not only are they amazing musicians; they've got this way words that is poetic and heartbreakingly beautiful. I believe that as a band, they do not get the credit that they deserve. Also, they don't tour Canada nearly as much as they should.

I follow Blabbermouth.net on twitter and saw that yesterday they posted this awesome interview video with Vincent Cavanagh being interviewed by Italian web radio station Linearock.it. Interesting and charming lead singer of Anathema, Vincent Cavanagh discusses the band's musical progression, and their new album (my favourite progressive rock record of 2012 so far), Weather Systems. It's a great lil interview to watch on a chill Sunday afternoon. Check it.



Check out Anathema's website here.

Friday, May 4, 2012

RIP ADAM YAUCH aka MCA (1964-2012)

It's yet another sad day in music. Adam Yauch,  co-founding member of the Beastie Boys, has died of cancer today. In his memory, we pick the song that the Beastie Boys has been most known for, the song that we hear every time we go to a house party, the song that they play every 90s night at the Annex Wreckroom, Intergalatic. RIP MCA.



reports: guardian - mtv - mashable - toronto star - yahoo

THE RETURN OF TBR'S FEATURED ARTIST

Featured Artist
Hey y'all - so as you can tell I've been revamping the fuck out of theblanketreviewer.com since we're officially off hiatus. How we liking the new look? I'm liking it.

Anyway - getting back in touch with music and writing, we are bringing back TBR's Featured Artist. Now, notice how I didn't use the term "of the month" or "of the week".... that's because who REALLY knows when it's gonna change. It could stay the same for a few days, a month, maybe two, a week, maybe two or three.. who really knows. We here at TBR are sporadic folks. For now, enjoy it's resurrection and it'll be updated whenever. I like to keep it real with y'all.

TBR's Featured Artist of the moment right now is DJ Cam (pictured). You can check out the link above or click here to be taken to it if you're too lazy to move your mouse to the top.  When we change up the Feat Artist, you'll see each previous artist posted to the main page.

If you're really feeling an artist that you'd like to see up there, email us some of their music at theblanketreviewer@live.com or send it to me via Twitter, Facebook, or Tumblr. Toronto musicians encouraged, so long as your music is awesome. Get at us.

Thursday, May 3, 2012

NEW MUSIC: GOJIRA - L'ENFANT SAUVAGE

There are few death metal bands I love more than Gojira. I can probably name them on one hand; but I won't go through that cause this straight promotional of Gojira's new single L'Enfant Sauvage.. The album (of the same name) doesn't come out till June and I can't wait. If this track is reflective of the rest of the lyrical madness and technical prowess that is featured on L'Enfant Sauvage, I just might cum when it leaks. lmao. _ dirty, I know. Just kidding -- however really I can't wait for the album. Check this.



check out the live version here.

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

AND THE SEARCH FOR NEW MUSIC CONTINUES..

Stumbled across this young lady's video today via Rapdose.com's link to her new song...
Although I'd heard of her before; this lil video caught my eye. It's so nice to see an African woman in the hip-hop game... Check it.



_ follow Lola Monroe on twitter: @thee_lolamonroe